Why Consumers Buy, A Personal Story

I spend a lot of time my time learning about why people buy. I know all of the emotional and rational reasons why people buy and after my actions of last week I know on a personal level why I buy.

I had been to the car dealers a couple of weeks ago to have my oil changed. As part of the service I had asked them to refill the container that holds water to wash the windshield. They did but omitted to check it and when I got home I found that it still didn’t work. So I set up an appointment to find out what was wrong and to get it fixed. When you are in and out of as many vineyards as I am, being able to wash the windshield is critical.

Three days later, I took the car to get it fixed and while I was there I wandered through the used car area. Just as I spotted this beautiful dark blue car a salesperson walked over to me and began to tell me about the car. He asked me if I would like to take a test drive. As it happened the salesperson was English so we had a nice chinwag about England and because we had connected, I said yes to the test drive.

Okay, yes was the wrong answer. As soon as I started driving the car, I was hooked, but still not planning to get a new car. Then he told me that this pristine car was a 2011, a lease return that had been very well taken care of (by that dealership) and (wait for it) with only 15,000 miles on it. I was hooked. I went home and checked the same model and age, etc. to see if the price was reasonable. It was, so I called them back and told them I would take the car.

I did have good reasons to buy a new (to me) car. My current car is 15 years old, although it runs well and only has 144,000 miles on it. I have enjoyed owning the car for many years though don’t like the cup-holders. Is not liking the cup holders a good enough reason to buy a new car?

Why did I buy it? I was sold emotionally. First, I connected with the person I was buying it from. It was a good buy financially and logically (it has all the new features I missed in my old car). However the reason I bought it was primarily emotional.

Hose to fix the windshield washer water container – $13.61 cents; a new (to me) car – a heck of a lot more, but priceless. I did, by the way, make them take the $13.61 for the hose off the price of the car.

A tip of the glass from me to you! e_T4Q6892 low-res -c bw s

Leave a Reply

