Positive Feelings for 2013

After spending my winter in the in the southern parts of the U.S., the Midwest and some of the Eastern states, I have come back to California excited about the wine industry all over North America.

My travels and especially my time at the different trade shows and conferences allowed me to talk to wineries all over the country, to see old friends, to make new friends and to talk to people from many different wineries in a large number of different states and provinces.

I am most encouraged by the positive outlook of the wineries for the coming season. Along with them, I think we should be looking forward to a great season this year.

While on some fronts the news of the economy is not brilliant, many of the people I speak with, in and out of the wine industry, seem to have a renewed confidence that things are getting better. When we begin to believe that things are getting better we will see the more positive side of life and it’s those positive feelings that lead to things getting better. Funny how it works!

For those of us involved in selling wine, these positive attitudes also lead to our visitors more freely opening up their wallets and handing over their credit cards to buy wine. So be ready to make lots of sales. Create some assumptions in your tasting rooms and wine shops, assume that everyone is going to buy wine and gift items from you. Find out what they want to know and what they need to make those buying decisions. Remember that it’s not all about the wine, it’s about how wine fits into your visitors’ lives.

If I can help by sending you information on making the sale, drop me an email and I’ll be happy to send you tips and techniques.

 

One comment on “Positive Feelings for 2013

  1. Someone I know in california is in the process of starting their own wine label. Any tips?

Leave a Reply

