I Love It When I Can Help!

This past week I was speaking at the Midwest Grape & Wine Conference in St. Charles and, as the session started, a winery owner raised his hand and said, “I have a story for you!” He continued to say that last year when we talked about wine clubs I said that generally people stayed in a club for 18 months. I suggested that at 16 or 17 months wineries send a note to thank members coming up to the 18 month mark for being in the club, and tell them that when they had been in for two years they would receive a gift. I suggested a logo item that members would use regularly and so be reminded of the winery. This gentleman took it one step further and sent them the gift when members had been in the club for 16 to 17 months.

He said that he had not lost a wine club member since! He had chosen to send them a cutting board and said that people loved it. Some of the members told him they used it at their home bar to cut lemons/limes, etc. The cutting board cost him about $2.

Needless to say I was thrilled, as was he. Also I think his idea of sending the gift at 16 or 17 months is a better time to send it than at the two-year mark.

A small gift goes a long way to increasing loyalty. People appreciate your generosity and kindness and it can keep them in the club for years to come.  It’s an easy way to help retention and it is affordable for any winery.

A tip of the glass from me to you!

E

Leave a Reply

